Star Baby

coeglade_sm8.jpg

“There’s only one star in a Helen Larsen production, that’s Helen Larsen,
and that’s me, baby.” Does anyone recognize this quote? It was in 2 movies.

This necklace that I made recently reminded me of it.

With old-school attitude and glamour on my mind, I was also inspired to dig up this telegram. It was sent to Coe Glade, who was an opera singer in Chicago in the 1940’s. I scored it while working in a vintage store there.

6 Responses to “Star Baby”


  1. 1 Erin - Idyll Hands January 28, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    I love the telegram! That’s all, just wanted to say that.

  2. 2 Charmaine Manley February 5, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    OHMYGAWD….Loni Anderson flashback

  3. 4 Dianna February 7, 2008 at 2:33 am

    Susan Hayward in Valley of the Dolls. I love that movie and love the telegram. I hope to get one like that one day.
    My other favorite quote from that movie is “They drummed you out of Hollywood, so you come crawling back to Broadway. But Broadway doesn’t go for booze and dope. Now get out of my way, I’ve got a man waiting for me.”

  4. 5 thankyouenjoy February 7, 2008 at 4:02 am

    WOW! Thanks. I’ve got to see that movie again now.

    I saw Isaac Mizrahi quoting her in his movie “Unzipped”, which is another good one.

  5. 6 Megan zoeller August 7, 2011 at 3:28 am

    My friends grandma passed away and she was great friends with Coe glade. Just looking at old photos and letters from her! Neat telegram


Leave a Reply

